Overlapping Dialogue Interactions

Using Unity 2021.3.20f1 and FMOD 2.02.13. I have several mini dialogue events that correspond with player interactions in my game (eg, player picks up a key and says, “Found it!”) The problem I’m running into is that if multiple interactions happen within a short period of each other, there is a bit of overlap in the dialogue, which obviously sounds unnatural. I’ve already added a 1-2 second delay to most of the events anyway, since there are UI sound effects involved with most of the interactions that I didn’t want the dialogue clashing with, and that has minimized this problem a tad, but not completely. Is there a way to tell FMOD via script to check if a line of dialogue is currently playing and not to start the next line until the current one has stopped? (PS - I’m very new to scripting and game sound design in general, so the more specific details the better, lol).

Hi,
I had the same issue and build a component to handle this. What it does is that it keeps track of the last event it plays and it gives you the means to define what should happen when you start another one while it is still playing. I call that the concurrency strategy.
It can abort the current one, ignore the new one, wait until the current one is finished, or just play anyway.

In order to use this, you would have to have one object with this script attached and other scripts could call the Play method and pass an EventReference as well as the concurrency strategy.

Feel free to use and modify this in any way you like.

using System.Collections;
using FMOD.Studio;
using FMODUnity;
using UnityEngine;

public enum SFXConcurrencyStrategy
{
    Cancel,
    Wait,
    AbortCurrent,
    PlayAnyway
}

public class NarratorController : MonoBehaviour
{
    private EventInstance _instance;

public bool IsPlaying
    {
        get
        {
            if (!_instance.isValid()) return false;
            _instance.getPlaybackState(out PLAYBACK_STATE state);