Locomotive Engine Sounds -- A bit of an enigma

Hello all,

I’m extremely new to FMOD (and DAW type editors), so please excuse me if this is something that’s basic and something likely easily obtainable.

I’m looking to use FMOD to program locomotive engine sounds, and have got the basics figured out as far as getting the no-load and loaded sound channels playing and interacting properly within Studio with a few extra twists, but I’d like to take it a bit further.

As you can see here, I have the RPM timeline and logic tracks laid out and blended (there are pitch shifts and the like going on behind the scenes), as well as a load one which is largely the same. This would be good if I was to stick with a rudimentary setup, but that is not the case. Locomotives and their large low-speed diesel engines and complex mechanics of load regulators, mechanical or electronic fuel injection, all tend to behave differently upon rev up and rev down. When recording a session, I record the transitions from throttle setting to throttle setting, as well as a idle to full throttle and reversed sample.

I would like to use the transition one-shots I have for ascending and descending in RPM in the respective order while also laying out cue points (is that the right term to use in relation to this software?) to where the logic track can skip to a sequentially named cue point in the logic track if the requested RPM is greater than one power setting higher.

So for example, if I go from Idle to Notch 2, it would go from idle > N2 transition one-shot > N2 (with the blended loops hidden beneath the one-shot). If I go from Idle to Notch 8, it would go Idle > One-shot N2 up transition > cuepoint set in transition > One-Shot N3 up transition > Cuepoint set in transition > One-Shot N4 up transition > etc until it reaches the target Notch 8 RPM. Vice versa for downward. N8 loop > One-shot to N7 down transition > Cue > N6 down > cue … you get the picture.